When you are stopped by police in Maine, they are trained to recognize signs of drug or alcohol intoxication. If the officer suspects that you may be under the influence, they will look for more evidence. In order to assist police in collecting evidence against you, they are trained to administer standardized sobriety tests. There are 2 kinds of sobriety tests:
Field Sobriety Tests – a set of physical tasks that police use to evaluate motor function impairment.
Chemical Sobriety Tests – these tests take a blood, breath or urine sample and evaluate it for the presence of drugs or alcohol.
The more accurate form of sobriety testing is chemical testing. There are several kinds of chemical tests and drivers should understand the distinction between them.
A chemical sobriety test is the best way to measure the amount of drugs or alcohol in your system. If the results of your tests show that your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was over the legal limit for your age, you will be charged with OUI. The legal BAC limits in Maine are as follows:
If you have any amount of an intoxicant in your body, you can be charged with a drug related OUI crime.
One of the most popular types of chemical sobriety tests is the breathalyzer test. These tests take a sample of your breath and check the amount of alcohol in your lungs. When alcohol is consumed and absorbed into the body, some of it vaporizes. This vapor stays in your lungs and reading it can give police an idea of how much you have had to drink. Breathalyzer tests are popular because police officers can carry the device with them in their patrol car. If they encounter a potentially intoxicated driver, using the breathalyzer is a quick and easy way for an officer to know if you are over the limit.
According to Maine law, only a person that is certified by the Maine Criminal Justice Academy can administer a breath test. Breathalyzer results can be used against you in court to show that you were impaired while operating a vehicle.
In some situations, an officer may decide that a blood sample should be drawn and tested instead of a breath test. There are a number of reasons why this may happen and the results of the blood test are admissible evidence. Unlike breath tests that provide instant results, this method requires you to wait several days or even weeks to find out your results. If the officer believes you are impaired and decides to give you a blood test, you can still be arrested and charged with OUI before the results come back.
In some instances, police will ask you to take a urine test to check for the presence of drugs or alcohol. This is most commonly done in cases of drug intoxication since only a blood or urine test will check for drugs in your body.
While you have the option to decline a field sobriety test, chemical tests must be taken. If you refuse a chemical test in Maine, you will steep penalties. Declining a blood, breath or urine test is a violation of Maine’s Implied Consent law. When you get a driver’s license, you are giving your implied consent that you will submit to a chemical BAC test when asked by police. If you refuse these tests, you are violating your implied consent and will receive additional penalties.
The following penalties will be incurred if you refuse a chemical sobriety test:
First OUI in a ten year period – A minimum of 96 hours of jail time, minimum fine of $600
Second OUI in a ten year period – A minimum of 12 days of incarceration, minimum fine of $900
Third OUI in a ten year period – A minimum of 40 days of incarceration, minimum fine of $1,400
Anything beyond – A minimum of 6 months and 20 days of incarceration, minimum fine of $2,500
In addition to these penalties which will be added on top of your OUI sentence, you will face license suspension for violating implied consent. Each incident during your lifetime where you refuse a chemical test will be counted as a refusal. Each additional refusal will result in longer periods of license suspension:
1st refusal: 275 days of license suspension
2nd refusal: 18 months of license suspension
3rd refusal: 4 years of license suspension
4th refusal: 6 years of license suspension
There is one defense to an implied consent violation. If you were not informed by police prior to giving your refusal that declining a chemical sobriety test would lead to additional penalties, you may avoid these penalties. DUI defense attorneys at the Law Office of William T. Bly are experienced in fighting these and other DUI related charges.
If you have been charged with an OUI Call us now!
If you are facing criminal charges in Maine, the attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group are here to help. Call our office to speak with
one of our team members, who will discuss your case with you and set up a consultation with one of our attorneys
How did we do?
Note: Your review may be shared publicly.
In response to the global coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, we have adjusted our policies and procedures as it pertains to in-person meetings and consultations. Effective immediately, we have suspended all in-person meetings and consultations and instead, will conduct those meetings via teleconferencing or video conferencing. This policy pertains to all clients; past, present and future. Please understand that while we may not be meeting with you, our clients in person, our legal team will continue to work on your cases and communicate with you in the same, prompt, and professional manner as always. Please be assured that whether we are physically present in our offices, or working remotely, you, the client, will not experience an interruption in the services you’ve come to expect from The Maine Criminal Defense Group. Thank you for your continued patience and understanding during this turbulent time.