OUR RATES INCLUDE
Under the Maine Criminal Code, if you are involved in a collision with a motor vehicle, you are required to stop at the scene immediately – or if you have already left, immediately return to the scene. If you leave the scene of a traffic accident in the State of Maine, you can be charged with a Class E criminal offense. If you are found guilty of the hit and run charge in court, you could be sentenced to a maximum penalty of $1,000 in monetary fines, a maximum incarceration period of 180 days, or both. These potential penalties are also subject to increase, depending upon the circumstances.
If you have been charged with a hit and a run offense, the experienced team of criminal defense lawyers in Maine can help. We can review all of the circumstances of your charge, assist you with formulating a defense, and explore other potential legal options that may be available in your case.
Class E hit and run charges in Maine are arguably the least serious. In some instances, an individual who causes a hit and run collision can be charged with a Class D offense. This is especially true if the motor vehicle collision resulted in a death or a serious bodily injury to one or more occupants of the other vehicle(s).
If you are ultimately convicted of committing a Class D criminal offense in Maine, you can receive up to 12 months of incarceration. In addition, you can receive up to $2,000 in monetary fines, along with a driver’s license suspension lasting for a period of 90 days.
Class C hit and run offenses are the most serious that a driver can commit in Maine. A person can be charged with a Class C hit and run offense if he or she operates a vehicle in a careless or reckless manner – or if the driver caused the collision intentionally. Moreover, a driver can be charged with a Class C offense if he or she is intoxicated and under the illegal influence of drugs or alcohol at the time of the collision.
Drivers who are convicted of a Class C offense can receive up to five years of incarceration, up to $5,000 in monetary fines, and a 90-day license suspension. Moreover, if the accident occurred because the driver was under the influence of drugs or alcohol – and the driver left the scene – a judge may be able to increase the criminal sentence upon conviction.
Fleeing the scene of an accident, especially where drugs or alcohol are involved, can have very serious consequences. The attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group can help you defend against your charge and work to help you attain the best possible result in your case. To schedule a case evaluation and legal consultation with a Maine criminal defense attorney, please contact us directly online or call us to learn more.
If you are facing criminal charges in Maine, the attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group are here to help. Call our office to speak with
one of our team members, who will discuss your case with you and set up a consultation with one of our attorneys
How did we do?
Note: Your review may be shared publicly.