;
Call Now To Get Your Life Back
207-571-8146
Menu
Search
We Fight To Have Your Charges Dismissed

Maine Juvenile OUI Defense Attorney

check

AVOID A
CRIMINAL RECORD

check

OUR RATES INCLUDE
TRIAL FEES*

check

OVER 115+
GOOGLE REVIEWS

check

OVER 165+
AVVO REVIEWS

Juvenile OUI Defense Lawyers
in Maine

Maine Juvenile OUI DUI Attorneys

In the state of Maine, it is illegal for a person under the age of 21 to consume alcohol, and those that drink and drive will face very severe penalties. If you are drinking before the age of 21, you could be arrested and charged with driving under the influence (DUI) if a law enforcement officer stops your car for any reason.

Maine follows a “zero tolerance policy” in regard to underage DUI. This means that although the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) for a driver 21 years or older is .08%, you will be charged with drunk driving if your BAC is measured and found to be above .00%.

Juvenile OUI charges are not the same as a traffic ticket and can result in suspended license, fines, probation and more. If you are arrested with a BAC over the legal limit for adults (.08%) and are under the age of 21, you will be subjected to the penalties of underage OUI and regular OUI charges.

Penalties for an Underage Drunk Driving Charge in Maine

All varieties of OUI charges in Maine should be taken seriously. An OUI conviction on your record can affect your chances when applying to jobs and educational institutions. You should always try to fight OUI charges. Just because you have been arrested does not mean that you are guilty.

  • Automatic license suspension of at least 1 year
  • Heavy monetary fines
  • Community service
  • Mandatory attendance of an alcohol education or treatment program
  • Possible jail time

Your penalties will also be influenced by additional facts of your conviction, such as prior OUIs and additional aggravating factors, including property damage, injuries or fatalities caused, excessive speeding, and any other traffic violations. In addition, if any of your passengers are under the age of 21, you could be forced to serve a 48-hour jail sentence.

Contact a Maine Juvenile OUI Defense Attorney Today

Being charged with driving while intoxicated can turn into a lifelong problem and affect your ability to be accepted to college or secure scholarship awards. The charges are especially dire for those who are under the legal drinking age but over 17.

In these cases, offenders are most often tried as adults, which means you could face such penalties as enormous fines, license suspension, and time in jail, and you will suffer the consequences of having a criminal conviction on your record. Jobs and schools look at these records when deciding whom to hire or accept.

A criminal conviction of any kind can sometimes make the difference between acceptance and rejection. Contact our offices today to see how an experienced juvenile OUI lawyer can help you.

Blog Posts

How to Get Out of an OUI in Maine
OUI/DUI/DWI

How to Get Out of an OUI in Maine

A charge for OUI in Maine has potential consequences that go well beyond what most people expect for drunk driving....
Read More
The Court Process for an OUI in Maine
Court Process OUI/DUI/DWI

The Court Process for an OUI in Maine

The term used for driving under the influence in Maine is OUI (Operating Under the Influence), but whatever term you...
Read More
{"slide_show":"2","slide_scroll":1,"dots":"false","arrows":"true","autoplay":"false","autoplay_interval":3000,"speed":600,"loop":"true","design":"design-2"}

Ready to get your life back? Call now!

Ready to Get Started? Contact Our Firm Today!

If you are facing criminal charges in Maine, the attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group are here to help. Call our office to speak with
one of our team members, who will discuss your case with you and set up a consultation with one of our attorneys

Call Now Button