Call Now To Get Your Life Back
207-571-8146
Menu
Search
We Fight To Have Your Charges Dismissed

What are the penalties for reckless driving in Maine?

check

AVOID A
CRIMINAL RECORD

check

OUR RATES INCLUDE
TRIAL FEES*

check

OVER 65+
GOOGLE REVIEWS

check

OVER 125+
AVVO REVIEWS

Though it is only a Class E offense, driving to endanger can leave a blemish on your driving record and can count towards habitual violator status which will lead to license revocation after 3 driving offense in 5 years.

The penalties for reckless driving are not as severe as DUI convictions but can still lead to serious consequences. In addition to any other penalty, the court shall suspend the driver’s license of a person convicted under subsection 1 for not less than 30 days nor more than 180 days, which minimum may not be suspended.

In addition to any other penalty, the court shall suspend the driver’s license of a person convicted under subsection 1-A for not less than 180 days nor more than 2 years, which minimum may not be suspended. If the court fails to suspend the license, the Secretary of State shall impose the minimum period of suspension.

The court shall impose a sentencing alternative that involves a fine of not less than $575, which may not be suspended.

In addition, if you are convicted of an aggravated driving to endanger offense in which people are seriously injured, you will face additional penalties:

  • Up to five years of incarnation and/or
  • Up to $5,000 in fines

Ready to get your life back? Call now!

Ready to Get Started? Contact Our Firm Today!

If you are facing criminal charges in Maine, the attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group are here to help. Call our office to speak with
one of our team members, who will discuss your case with you and set up a consultation with one of our attorneys

Call Now Button