Call Now To Get Your Life Back
207-571-8146
Menu
Search
We Fight To Have Your Charges Dismissed

What are the marijuana penalties for minors in Maine?

check

AVOID A
CRIMINAL RECORD

check

OUR RATES INCLUDE
TRIAL FEES*

check

OVER 65+
GOOGLE REVIEWS

check

OVER 125+
AVVO REVIEWS

The penalties for a marijuana crime have dropped dramatically in recent years.

At this point, most drug crimes involving marijuana – not counting those that involve enough marijuana to create an intent to sell – are civil infractions that are only punishable with a fine.

However, minors accused of marijuana offenses may face traditional repercussions of a criminal conviction like fines and jail time and also, as a result, face a blemish on their criminal records that can seriously undermine their futures.

According to Maine Legislation:

“A minor who possesses up to and including 2 1/2 ounces of marijuana commits a civil violation for which a fine of not more than $100 may be adjudged. If the minor does not commit another violation of this paragraph within one year following adjudication, the court shall expunge the record of the civil violation.”

If a minor who violates § 2453-A once in Maine will be adjudged a fine of no less than $300 BUT no more than $600. If the same minor has violated the same act 2 times or more will be adjudged a fine of $600 with small exceptions to the law.

The cost of a criminal conviction involving marijuana goes well beyond the fine. It can impact a young person’s college prospects and financial aid and can put a blemish on their professional reputation even before it gets started.

Ready to get your life back? Call now!

Ready to Get Started? Contact Our Firm Today!

If you are facing criminal charges in Maine, the attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group are here to help. Call our office to speak with
one of our team members, who will discuss your case with you and set up a consultation with one of our attorneys

Call Now Button