Call Now To Get Your Life Back
207-571-8146
Menu
Search
We Fight To Have Your Charges Dismissed

What are the penalties for drug possession in Maine?

check

AVOID A
CRIMINAL RECORD

check

OUR RATES INCLUDE
TRIAL FEES*

check

OVER 65+
GOOGLE REVIEWS

check

OVER 125+
AVVO REVIEWS

Drug possession is a popular juvenile offense committed across the country unfortunately. The penalties for possession in Maine depends on the classification of the drug and the amount found.

The following drug schedule is taken from the Maine Revised Statutes Title 17-A, Chapter 45, §1102:

  • Schedule W: includes cocaine, crack cocaine, heroin, ecstasy, methamphetamine, and Vicodin
  • Schedule X: includes hallucinogenic drugs, hashish, and drugs that depress the central nervous system
  • Schedule Y: Codeine, Barbitol and other prescription drugs
  • Schedule Z: marijuana, all prescription drugs other than those included in previous schedules

Penalties for drug possession

If you get convicted for drug possession, the penalty that you could face depends on the nature of the drug that you were in possession of, and how much of it you had.

Generally, drug possession is a misdemeanor charge. The exact penalties depend on which of Maine’s controlled substance Schedules the drug belongs to:

Type of Crime Jail time Fine
Schedule W Class D (Misdemeanor) Up to 364 days $2,000
Schedule X Class D (Misdemeanor) Up to 364 days $2,000
Schedule Y Class E (Misdemeanor) Up to 6 months $1,000
Schedule Z Class E (Misdemeanor) Up to 6 months $1,000

However, possession of certain drugs carries elevated penalties. Possession of any of the following drugs is a Class C felony drug charge, which comes with a fine of up to $5,000, and up to 5 years in jail:

  • Hydrocodone,
  • Oxycodone,
  • Methamphetamine,
  • Hydromorphone, also known as Dilaudid,
  • Heroin, or
  • Crack cocaine, if you’ve had a prior drug conviction.

While a conviction for possessing these drugs comes with higher fines and a longer jail sentence, possession of over a specific amount of certain Schedule W drugs can turn a charge from a Class D misdemeanor into a Class B felony.

Class B felonies carry fines of up to $20,000, and up to 10 years in prison. These are the Schedule W drugs, and the amounts required, that can result in these elevated penalties:

  • Possession of 14 or more grams of either cocaine, or methamphetamine, or
  • Possession of 4 grams or more of crack cocaine.

Ready to get your life back? Call now!

Ready to Get Started? Contact Our Firm Today!

If you are facing criminal charges in Maine, the attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group are here to help. Call our office to speak with
one of our team members, who will discuss your case with you and set up a consultation with one of our attorneys

Call Now Button