Call Now To Get Your Life Back
207-571-8146
Menu
Search
We Fight To Have Your Charges Dismissed

What are the prohibited consensual sexual activity laws in Maine?

check

AVOID A
CRIMINAL RECORD

check

OUR RATES INCLUDE
TRIAL FEES*

check

OVER 65+
GOOGLE REVIEWS

check

OVER 125+
AVVO REVIEWS

Even if sexual activity is claimed to be “consensual”, laws in Maine protect children from being exploited.

Prohibited consensual sexual activity includes any sexual act with a person aged under 16 years regardless of whether it is claimed as “consensual”. That is because no person under that age can consent to sexual activity as they are not considered mature enough to be able to make that decision.

However, there is an exception. In Maine, we have the so-called “Romeo and Juliet” law.

Under this legislation, a person accused of sexual activity with a 14- or 15-year-old, and who is less than five years older than their sexual partner, may be exempt from a sex crime charge.

Ready to get your life back? Call now!

Ready to Get Started? Contact Our Firm Today!

If you are facing criminal charges in Maine, the attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group are here to help. Call our office to speak with
one of our team members, who will discuss your case with you and set up a consultation with one of our attorneys

Call Now Button