By Appt. Only19 Commercial Street
Main Office119 Main St
OUR RATES INCLUDE
If you’re reading this blog post, the worst hashappened. You’ve been convicted for OUIhere in Maine. Now, let’s move on to the more important matter which is getting your license reinstated. Hopefully you’ve retained a damn good OUI defense attorney. The state of Maine has tough OUI laws and avoiding convictions is a difficult thing to do, even under the best of circumstances. Sometimes, despite the best efforts of your attorney, you may end up with a conviction. If you’ve been convicted of a crime of OUI here in Maine, start by speaking with your attorney. He or she should be able to tell you what steps to take to get your drivers license reinstated.
Maine gives you a couple of different options on how to get your license reinstated. Will review each option one by one. Option #1is the most popular choice: installation of an ignition interlock device (IID). In order to get an IID, you have to satisfythe following requirements:
1. You must first serve 30 days of suspension time;
2. You must have completed the DEEPcourse;
3. You must have paid all reinstatement fees;
4. You must have completed your ignition interlock device application and submit it to the Bureau of motor vehicles prior to scheduling your IID installation appointment.
If you complete all of the foregoing requirements, you should be eligible for reinstatement. The difficulty is, many people do not complete DEEPuntil they’ve actually been convicted of the crime of OUI. It takes time to complete DEEP and as a result, those folks who do not complete it early on will likely have to wait longer than 30 days before completion of deep and being eligible to have their IID installed. Don’t be that person.
If you opt for the IID option, you will need to contract the IID directly through the manufacturer. The BMV does not assist you with this. Your attorney can provide you with this information if he or she is someone that concentrates in DUI defense. Keep in mind that you must pay for the installation, maintenance, rental, and removal of the device. Getting an IID is not cheap. But it sure as heck beats the alternative of walking or being unable to care for your family because you can’t get to work or the grocery store.
Option #2: Serve two thirds of your suspension time; pay all of your reinstatement fees; complete the DEEPcourse. Let’s use an example: you are just convicted of a first offense OUI in Portland Maine. The court suspended your driver’s license for a period of 150 days. You complete DEEPin a timely fashion; you pay your $50 reinstatement fee; and you serve 100 days of the suspension time. As long as you have completed the foregoing requirements, the Bureau of motor vehicles will reinstate your license on a work restricted basis for the last 50 days of the 150 day suspension period.
Option #3: Serve the entirety of your suspension time; pay all your reinstatement fees; complete the deep course. For a very small segment of the population, this may be the best alternative. However, for most of my clients, this would be an unacceptable option and one they would not choose to exercise.
One of the most important things to remember is that you must always complete DEEPprior to reinstatement of your license. Talk with your attorney and decide together which option is best for you.
If you are facing criminal charges in Maine, the attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group are here to help. Call our office to speak with
one of our team members, who will discuss your case with you and set up a consultation with one of our attorneys
How did we do?
Note: Your review may be shared publicly.