Call Now To Get Your Life Back
207-571-8146
Menu
Search

Case Results

Home > OUI, DUI, and DWI > STATE v. H.W.

STATE v. H.W.

Charge:  OUI Refusal

Summary:  Client, who was from Texas, was in town for a business meeting.  Client had a few too many drinks at the local bar and attempted to drive back to his / her hotel.  Client was heavily intoxicated and it was obvious upon review of the cruiser video.  Client was arrested for drunk driving, admitted to being too drunk to drive and ultimately, refused to take a breath test.

Mandatory Minimum Penalty:  4 days jail; $600.00 fine; 14 month loss of license

Maximum Penalty:  364 days jail; $2,000.00 fine; 16 month loss of license

Result:  Client would lose his / her job if convicted of the OUI.  This case was a “loser” right out of the gate and there was zero chance of winning this case on the merits.  So instead, I successfully negotiated a DTE out of this case.  I provided the DA with a letter from my client’s employer who specifically stated that the client would be terminated if convicted of the OUI as his / her license was a necessary part of performing his / her job.  Client agreed to enroll in the Alternative Sentencing Program in lieu of jail and received a $1,000.00 fine and a 30 day loss of license, which had no effect on him / her because TX doesn’t have a DTE statute.  Client was elated!

Ready to get your life back? Call now!

Ready to Get Started? Contact Our Firm Today!

If you are facing criminal charges in Maine, the attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group are here to help. Call our office to speak with
one of our team members, who will discuss your case with you and set up a consultation with one of our attorneys

Call Now Button