Call Now To Get Your Life Back
207-571-8146
Menu
Search

Case Results

Home > Domestic Violence > STATE v. N.J.

STATE v. N.J.

Charge: Domestic Violence Assault

Maximum Penalty: 364 days jail; $2,000.00 fine; 2 years probation; 48 week certified batters intervention program

Summary: The client got into a verbal argument with his girlfriend that ultimately turned physical.  Both parties struck each other repeatedly.  However, my client appeared to have taken the brunt of the injuries.  The client called 911 to report the altercation and to have the police intervene and cool things off.  Sadly for the client, he was arrested and charged with Domestic Violence Assault.

Result: DA initially sought a jail sentence of 364 days with all but 10 days suspended, completion of certified batterers intervention program and 2 years probation.  I informed the DA that based on my client’s injuries (the photos of his back were horrific as he looked like he was mauled by a wildcat), the only resolution besides a dismissal of the charges that we were willing to accept would be a no-cost filing.  We came to court prepared to try the case and were pleasantly surprised when the DA agreed to file the case at no cost to my client.  Client’s bail was released and case was subsequently dismissed.

Ready to get your life back? Call now!

Ready to Get Started? Contact Our Firm Today!

If you are facing criminal charges in Maine, the attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group are here to help. Call our office to speak with
one of our team members, who will discuss your case with you and set up a consultation with one of our attorneys

Call Now Button