Call Now To Get Your Life Back
207-571-8146
Menu
Search

Falmouth Felony Sexual Assault Attorney

Home > Falmouth Felony Sexual Assault Attorney

Defending Against Serious Felony Sex Crime Charges in Maine

Each state has its own laws when it comes to sexual assault, and Maine is certainly no different. The most serious sex crime on our state is referred to as gross sexual assault, and it is a felony-level offense. The severity of the felony charge can vary depending on the alleged circumstances, though all types of sexual assault charges are very serious matters. 

If you have been accused of sexual assault, you should immediately contact a Falmouthfelony sexual assault attorney. The Maine Criminal Defense Group handles cases involving serious violent felony charges, so please call for the defense help you need today. 

Gross Sexual Assault Charges in Maine

State law allows prosecutors to issue charges for a Class A, B, or C crime, which are all considered to be felony-level offenses and come with felony-level penalties for a conviction. The following are the elements for each level of sexual assault charge and possible penalties. 

Class A Felony Gross Sexual Assault

To charge you with this highest-level felony, a prosecutor must prove one of the following:

  • You engaged in sexual contact that was the result of compulsion, such as physical force, injury, or kidnapping
  • The alleged victim of sexual assault was younger than age 14

The possible penalties for Class A crimes include up to 30 years in state prison and fines up to $50,000.

Class B Felony Gross Sexual Assault

This level of charge might apply if the prosecutor alleges one of the following circumstances:

  • You impaired the other person so they could not consent, such as with drugs or other intoxicating substances
  • You used threats to compel the victim to submit to sexual acts
  • The victim was unconscious or otherwise unable to resist
  • You knew the victim had a mental disability that made them unable to consent
  • You were the victim’s parent or guardian, and they were under 18
  • You had authority over the victim who was a prisoner, parolee, probationer, or student

The penalties for Class B crimes can include up to ten years in state prison and fines up to $20,000.

Class C Felony Gross Sexual Assault

Class C charges might be issued if:

  • You were acting as a psychologist, social worker, or psychiatrist and assaulted a patient or client
  • You own or work for a program associated with the Department of Health and Human Services, and the victim was receiving services for a mental or intellectual disability

While this is the lowest level of felony charge in Maine, the penalties for a conviction can still include five years in state prison and a $5,000 fine.

Contact an Experienced Falmouth Felony Sexual Assault Attorney Right Away

Sexual assault charges are always serious, and if you do not present the proper defense, a conviction can impact your future for the rest of your life. If you have been arrested or charged with a sex crime, contact a Falmouth felony sexual assault attorney at The Maine Criminal Defense Group as soon as possible.

Ready to get your life back? Call now!

Ready to Get Started? Contact Our Firm Today!

If you are facing criminal charges in Maine, the attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group are here to help. Call our office to speak with
one of our team members, who will discuss your case with you and set up a consultation with one of our attorneys

Call Now Button