Call Now To Get Your Life Back
207-571-8146
Menu
Search

Driving Without a License in Maine

Home > Maine Criminal Defense Attorney > Driving Without a License in Maine

Maine Resident Drivers License Law

Under Maine law, a person needs a valid driver’s license to operate a vehicle. Operating a vehicle includes driving a vehicle on the road or in a parking lot. Student drivers are also allowed to operate vehicles as long as they are in a parking area and accompanied by an adult or driving instructor.

Anyone who is a Maine citizen and is over the age of 16 can apply for a license. In order to get a license, the driver must turn in any other licenses that they have been issued and The Secretary of State must approve the driver’s application.

The laws also state that a person must apply for a Maine driver’s license:

  • Within 30 days of becoming a Maine resident

If a person has been living in Maine for less than 90 days and does not obtain a Maine license, they can be subject to a traffic citation. If they have been a resident over 90 days and still have not obtained a Maine State license, they face Class E criminal charges.

Driving Without a License in Maine Laws

It is a crime to drive with an out of state license if a driver is a Maine resident, but it is an even more serious offense to drive with no license at all. Under Maine criminal code Title 29-A section 1251, it is a crime for a person to drive a vehicle on the road or in a parking area of any of the following apply:

  • The driver does not have a valid driver’s license – the person operating the vehicle has not received a license from any state, is not eligible for a license or has lost their license.
  • The driver is in violation of a conditional or restricted license – after a person’s license gets suspended or revoked, they can sometimes get a limited license that allows them to drive only under certain circumstances.
  • The driver has a Maine driver’s license that has expired 90 days ago or less

Penalties for Driving Without a License in Maine

The penalties for driving with an expired Maine license and driving with an out of state license 90 days or less after becoming a Maine resident are traffic citations. All other driving without a license offenses under Title 29-A section 1251 are Class E charges.

The sentences for a Class E offense include:

  • A maximum fine of $1000 and/or
  • A maximum of 180 days of jail time

Maine Driving Without a License Attorney

If you have been charged with driving without a license, call our office now. A driver who does not have a license can still be charged with OUI or any other driving offense and can face charges for multiple offenses all at once.

Our attorneys are dedicated to getting our clients the best results possible. We will listen to your case and explain to you what your charges mean and what your defense option is. Contact The Maine Criminal Defense Group to get started or to learn more today.

Ready to get your life back? Call now!

Ready to Get Started? Contact Our Firm Today!

If you are facing criminal charges in Maine, the attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group are here to help. Call our office to speak with
one of our team members, who will discuss your case with you and set up a consultation with one of our attorneys

We Are Open For Business

In response to the global coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, we have adjusted our policies and procedures as it pertains to in-person meetings and consultations. Effective immediately, we have suspended all in-person meetings and consultations and instead, will conduct those meetings via teleconferencing or video conferencing. This policy pertains to all clients; past, present and future. Please understand that while we may not be meeting with you, our clients in person, our legal team will continue to work on your cases and communicate with you in the same, prompt, and professional manner as always. Please be assured that whether we are physically present in our offices, or working remotely, you, the client, will not experience an interruption in the services you’ve come to expect from The Maine Criminal Defense Group. Thank you for your continued patience and understanding during this turbulent time.

Call Now Button