Call Now To Get Your Life Back
207-571-8146
Menu
Search
We Fight To Have Your Charges Dismissed

What are the penalties for criminal speeding charges in Maine?

check

AVOID A
CRIMINAL RECORD

check

OUR RATES INCLUDE
TRIAL FEES*

check

OVER 65+
GOOGLE REVIEWS

check

OVER 125+
AVVO REVIEWS

When you receive a ticket for the crime of criminal speeding in Maine it is considered a Class E offense.
The recommended sentencing for a Class E conviction is as follows:

  • A maximum of 6 months of incarceration and/or
  • A maximum fine of $1,000 and/or
  • A maximum length of one year of probation
  • An administrative license suspension of at least 30 days

It will be up to a judge to decide exactly what a person’s sentence is, and their decision will be influenced by factors like the driver’s criminal history, the circumstances of the offense and the prosecution’s recommendation.

In addition, a criminal speeding conviction counts towards habitual violator status which can lead to license revocation.

PENALTIES FOR CRIMINAL SPEEDING AND AN OUI/DUI IN MAINE

If you are stopped by a police officer in Maine for not only goin over 30 MPH but also under the influence of drugs or alcohol you will be subject to additional penalties.

For example, if you’ve been stopped and you are also intoxicated you will face a minimum of 48 hours in jail if you were also speeding 30 MPH or more over the posted speed limit.

Ready to get your life back? Call now!

Ready to Get Started? Contact Our Firm Today!

If you are facing criminal charges in Maine, the attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group are here to help. Call our office to speak with
one of our team members, who will discuss your case with you and set up a consultation with one of our attorneys

Call Now Button