Call Now To Get Your Life Back
207-571-8146
Menu
Search
We Fight To Have Your Charges Dismissed

What are the penalties of a child pornography conviction in Maine?

check

AVOID A
CRIMINAL RECORD

check

OUR RATES INCLUDE
TRIAL FEES*

check

OVER 65+
GOOGLE REVIEWS

check

OVER 125+
AVVO REVIEWS

If found guilty of possessing and/or viewing child pornography, an individual will be required to register in the sex offender database-meaning that they will have to continually update their information when they choose to move, maintain employment, or attend school in another jurisdiction.

This information will be viewable by the public, including what charges a person was convicted of. Also, a person may be subject to federal and/or state charges.

According to Maine Code §284, being in possession of any sexually explicit material that involves a minor less than 16 years of age would result in a class D crime in the state of Maine.

A class D offense is punishable by up to 1 year in jail and a $2,000 fine. If in possession of child pornography where the minor is less than 12 years old, an individual would be charged with a class C crime-resulting in up to 5 years in jail and a $5,000 fine.

If an offender has had one or more prior convictions, the severity of the crime, and the resulting penalties, will be increased, as well.

Ready to get your life back? Call now!

Ready to Get Started? Contact Our Firm Today!

If you are facing criminal charges in Maine, the attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group are here to help. Call our office to speak with
one of our team members, who will discuss your case with you and set up a consultation with one of our attorneys

Call Now Button