Call Now To Get Your Life Back
207-571-8146
Menu
Search
We Fight To Have Your Charges Dismissed

What are the penalties of indecent conduct (exposure) in Maine?

check

AVOID A
CRIMINAL RECORD

check

OUR RATES INCLUDE
TRIAL FEES*

check

OVER 65+
GOOGLE REVIEWS

check

OVER 125+
AVVO REVIEWS

Depending on the type of indecent exposure that took place, one might expect to face serious legal consequences.

Under Maine Code §854, “any person 18+ who for sexual gratification lewdly exposes his genitals to a person under 14, or causes a person under 14 to expose his genitals” can be charged with a class D crime, or a class C crime is the victim was under 12 years old.

A class D crime may result in up to 1 year in jail and a fine of $2,000, and a class C crime may result in up to 5 years in jail and a $5,000 fine.

For lesser offenses, like engaging in a sexual act in view of the public or intentionally exposing one’s genitals in a public place or with the intention of being seen from another private place, one would face a class E offense-which may result in six months in jail and a $1,000 fine.

If an offender has two or more prior convictions for any combination of these sex crimes, it would then result in a class D crime.

Under the law, motor vehicles that are parked on a public way are still considered a public place, so if found to be engaging in a sexual act while in a motor vehicle, one may still be charged with indecent exposure, as well.

Ready to get your life back? Call now!

Ready to Get Started? Contact Our Firm Today!

If you are facing criminal charges in Maine, the attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group are here to help. Call our office to speak with
one of our team members, who will discuss your case with you and set up a consultation with one of our attorneys

Call Now Button