Call Now To Get Your Life Back
207-571-8146
Menu
Search
We Fight To Have Your Charges Dismissed

What are the penalties for domestic violence crimes in Maine?

check

AVOID A
CRIMINAL RECORD

check

OUR RATES INCLUDE
TRIAL FEES*

check

OVER 65+
GOOGLE REVIEWS

check

OVER 125+
AVVO REVIEWS

Domestic violence is considered one of the most serious types of crimes in the State of Maine. As such, penalties are generally very harsh but they do vary depending on the precise circumstances.

Domestic violence crimes include assault, criminal threatening, terrorizing, stalking, and reckless conduct.

Class D crimes (misdemeanors)

  • A maximum penalty of 364 days in jail and a $2,000 fine if there are no prior convictions or other aggravating circumstances
  • The Maine courts may impose up to two years’ probation and mandatory completion of a certified batterer’s intervention program

Class C crimes (felonies)

  • Crimes may be charged as a Class C (felony) crime if you:
    • Have prior convictions within the past 10 years for a domestic violence crime
    • Violated a protection from abuse order
    • Violated the conditions of release of bail for a domestic violence felony
    • Used a weapon in the commission of the crime
  • A maximum penalty of five years in prison and a $5,000 fine

Class B crimes (felonies)

  • Domestic violence crimes are automatically upgraded to Class B (aggravated assault) in the case of physical contact with the victim’s neck area (“strangulation”)
  • A maximum penalty of ten years imprisonment and a $10,000 fine

Ready to get your life back? Call now!

Ready to Get Started? Contact Our Firm Today!

If you are facing criminal charges in Maine, the attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group are here to help. Call our office to speak with
one of our team members, who will discuss your case with you and set up a consultation with one of our attorneys

Call Now Button