;
Call Now To Get Your Life Back
207-571-8146
Menu
Search
We Fight To Have Your Charges Dismissed

Maine Child Endangerment OUI Defense Attorneys

check

AVOID A
CRIMINAL RECORD

check

OUR RATES INCLUDE
TRIAL FEES*

check

OVER 115+
GOOGLE REVIEWS

check

OVER 165+
AVVO REVIEWS

Child Endangerment OUI Charges in Maine

Child endangerment OUI Lawyers in Maine

When a driver is arrested for drinking & driving and a child is present in the car, they can also be charged with a child endangerment OUI. Maine does not have specific laws that apply to child endangerment, but there are increased penalties for driving impaired with a minor.

You can be arrested for an OUI in Maine if one of two conditions apply:

  1. You are under the influence of alcohol with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% (.08 grams of alcohol per 100 ml of blood or 210 L of breath) or greater
  2. You are under the influence of an intoxicant (any natural or artificial chemical substance that, when taken into the human body, can impair the ability of the person to safely operate a motor vehicle.)

If police suspect that you are driving under the influence of either drugs or alcohol or both, you will be arrested on suspicion of OUI. If you have a passenger in the car at the time of your arrest that is under the age of 21, you will face additional penalties. You will need an experienced OUI defense attorney.

Endangering the welfare of a minor while drinking and driving in Maine

Of the children killed in drunk driving accidents in one year, over 90% of them were passengers of a driver who was under the influence of alcohol. As alcohol causes the driver to suffer from impaired reasoning and concentration, they will be less likely to ensure that the child is properly restrained as well as focus on driving.

This is considered a form of child abuse and those who violate this law could suffer from severe penalties.

If you are accused of DUI in Maine and a minor is present in the car, you could also be charged with child endangerment. Not only does a child endangerment conviction mean more penalties, it can also cause you problems in the future in child custody cases.

What are the penalties for a Child Endangerment OUI in Maine?

Unlike other states that consider minors under 14 subject to child endangerment, Maine states that a passenger under 21 is considered to be a minor. According to the Maine Revised Statutes §2411 (2003), there are certain offenses which require a minimum of jail time.

These include driving with a BAC of 0.15% or higher, driving at speeds 30 mph above the speed limit, attempting to evade the police officer, or having a passenger in the car that is under the age of 21. The Portland criminal justice system takes this offense very seriously.

A first or second OUI charge in a 10-year period is generally a Class D offense. Once you have had 2 or more OUI convictions within 10 years, all new charges will be Class C offenses. The penalties for these offenses include:

  • First or Second Offense: These are Class D offenses, with penalties of minimum fines of $600 for a first offense and $700 for a second. The fine will increase if a chemical sobriety test was refused. You will also face a license suspension of 90 days for a first offense and 3 years for a second offense. In addition, you will be sentenced to at least 48 hours of jail time for a first OUI offense if a passenger under 21 was present. A second offense will also land you 7 days in jail and alcohol or drug treatment.
  • Third or More Offense: These offenses are Class C charges. Sentences include $1,100 in fines for a third offense and $2,100 for an y subsequent offenses. You will also face 30 days to six months of jail as well as 10 years of license suspension. Class C offenses include mandatory enrollment in drug or alcohol treatment, and 4 or more prior convictions will result in installation of an ignition interlock system.

On top of these charges, you will receive an additional 275 days of license suspension if you are arrested for OUI and there is a minor under 21 in your vehicle.

Contact a Child Endangerment OUI Defense Lawyer Today

Depending on the seriousness of the offense, the minimum amount of time they will have to spend in jail is 48 hours. If they refused to submit to a field sobriety test or a breath and blood test, they will have to pay a $600 fine. If they submitted to alcohol testing, this fine will be reduced to $500.

There will be an immediate court-ordered driver’s license suspension for 90 days, but this will increase if there was a child in the car. If you have more questions regarding this offense, please do not hesitate to get in touch with our office.

We will do everything in our power to protect you and your best interests. Call us at (207) 571-8146 or contact us directly online.

Blog Posts

What If I Blow Under .08 on a DUI Breath Test in Maine?
Implied Consent OUI/DUI/DWI Sobriety Checkpoints

What If I Blow Under .08 on a DUI Breath Test in Maine?

If you blow under .08 in a DUI breath test in Maine, it may be jumping the gun to breathe...
Read More
Can You Enter Canada with an OUI on Your Record?
OUI/DUI/DWI

Can You Enter Canada with an OUI on Your Record?

Information Updated: October 25, 2023 Between 11 and 15 million Americans visit Canada each year but you’re unlikely to contribute...
Read More
Can I Obtain a Limited License or Work Permit After an OUI in Maine?
OUI/DUI/DWI

Can I Obtain a Limited License or Work Permit After an OUI in Maine?

  A charge for Operating Under the Influence (OUI) in Maine comes with a potential loss of driving privileges. But...
Read More
What Happens to Your License After an OUI at the BMV in Maine
BMV Hearing OUI/DUI/DWI

What Happens to Your License After an OUI at the BMV in Maine

Several things happen at the same time if you are arrested and charged with OUI in Maine, or issued with...
Read More
How to Get Out of an OUI in Maine
OUI/DUI/DWI

How to Get Out of an OUI in Maine

A charge for OUI in Maine has potential consequences that go well beyond what most people expect for drunk driving....
Read More
The Court Process for an OUI in Maine
Court Process OUI/DUI/DWI

The Court Process for an OUI in Maine

The term used for driving under the influence in Maine is OUI (Operating Under the Influence), but whatever term you...
Read More
How long does an OUI stay on your record in Maine?
OUI/DUI/DWI

How long does an OUI stay on your record in Maine?

Updated on May 14, 2023 An OUI is a permanent black mark on your Maine driving and criminal record, but...
Read More
OUI Potential Consequences Beyond Fines, License Suspension & Jail Time in Maine
OUI/DUI/DWI

OUI Potential Consequences Beyond Fines, License Suspension & Jail Time in Maine

We will explore the Maine OUI consequences that go beyond the fines, license suspension, and jail time typically associated with...
Read More
Rise in Sobriety Checkpoints & OUI Charges in Maine
OUI/DUI/DWI Sobriety Checkpoints

Rise in Sobriety Checkpoints & OUI Charges in Maine

Operating under the influence (OUI) charges are on the rise in Maine and this has been partly attributed to the...
Read More
Sobriety Checkpoint Laws and Expectations in Maine
OUI/DUI/DWI Sobriety Checkpoints

Sobriety Checkpoint Laws and Expectations in Maine

Most drivers in Maine are familiar with sobriety checkpoints but how many are familiar with sobriety checkpoint law? Anyone driving...
Read More
{"slide_show":"2","slide_scroll":1,"dots":"false","arrows":"true","autoplay":"false","autoplay_interval":3000,"speed":600,"loop":"true","design":"design-2"}



Ready to get your life back? Call now!

Ready to Get Started? Contact Our Firm Today!

If you are facing criminal charges in Maine, the attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group are here to help. Call our office to speak with
one of our team members, who will discuss your case with you and set up a consultation with one of our attorneys

Call Now Button