;
Call Now To Get Your Life Back
207-571-8146
Menu
Search
We Fight To Have Your Charges Dismissed

Boothbay Harbor Maine OUI Defense Attorneys

check

AVOID A
CRIMINAL RECORD

check

OUR RATES INCLUDE
TRIAL FEES*

check

OVER 115+
GOOGLE REVIEWS

check

OVER 165+
AVVO REVIEWS

OUI Defense Lawyers in Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Boothbay Harbor Maine Operating Under the Influence (OUI) Lawyers
Facing Operating Under the Influence (OUI) charges in Boothbay Harbor, Maine demands a robust defense, as the consequences are severe. Law enforcement is unforgiving, and the distinction between a lasting criminal record and potential jail time hinges on the strength of your defense.

At The Maine Criminal Defense Group, our steadfast OUI defense lawyers in Boothbay Harbor bring tenacity and a deep understanding of Maine’s OUI laws. We navigate the complexities of the Boothbay Harbor court system, offering a formidable defense to mitigate the serious repercussions of an OUI conviction.

Common Concerns About OUI Charges in Boothbay Harbor, Maine

OUI Resources for Boothbay Harbor, Maine

OUI Penalties Underage OUI Felony OUI
OUI Habitual Offenders Implied Consent Laws OUI Field Sobriety Testing

OUI Penalties in Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Under Maine OUI laws, you are not allowed to operate a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or another intoxicant. Most drivers know this and many also understand that the legal limit is .08 percent Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC).

In Maine, you can be arrested and charged with an OUI even if you are within the legal limit. If a law enforcement officer suspects you of operating a vehicle in an impaired way, you will be arrested and asked to submit to certain tests.

Review the potential penalties for operating under the influence charges in Maine.

No. of Offense (Last 10 Years) License Suspension Jail Time Minimum Fine
1st Offense 150 Days 0 – 96 Hours $500
2nd Offense 3 Years 7 Days $700
3rd Offense 6 Years 30 Days $1,100
4th Offense 8 Years 6 Months $2,100

Read More Extensive Guide to OUI and Impaired Driving Penalties in Maine

First OUI Penalties

A “first offense” means that you do not have any prior OUI convictions in any state within the preceding 10 years.

Maine imposes the following set of mandatory minimum criminal penalties for a first offense OUI conviction:

  • $500 fine
  • 150-day driver’s license suspension
  • Misdemeanor on your permanent record

Boothbay Harbor judges frequently exceed these minimum penalties and hand down harsher punishments. It’s important to bear in mind that even for a first conviction, Maine OUI laws allow for a maximum penalty of 364 days in jail.

Penalties for second and subsequent OUI offenses carry harsher minimum and maximum penalties.

BMV OUI penalties

The BMV in Boothbay Harbor doesn’t wait for a conviction before suspending your driver’s license.

If you fail a breathalyzer test with a BAC of .08 percent or higher, the BMV will suspend your driver’s license. This is an automatic suspension unless you contest it by requesting an administrative hearing (in writing) within 10 days of the notice of suspension date.

An OUI lawyer from The Maine Criminal Defense Group can file for and represent you at the hearing, which can be especially beneficial if you live out of state or are busy working.

If you are unsuccessful at your BMV hearing and are later convicted in court, any criminal driving suspension runs concurrently with the BMV one. You serve the suspension only once.

Read More Refusing a Breathalyzer or Chemical Test when Pulled jOver for an OUI in Maine

Second OUI Penalties

For a second OUI offense in Maine, it’s considered a Class D crime with potential penalties. The maximum jail term is 364 days, and fines can reach up to $2,000. Mandatory minimum penalties include:

  1. Seven days of mandatory minimum jail time.
  2. A mandatory minimum fine of $700.
  3. A three-year license suspension and loss of the right to register a motor vehicle.

If you refused a chemical test, the penalties become more severe:

  1. A mandatory minimum jail sentence of twelve days.
  2. A mandatory minimum fine of $900.

To learn more about the penalties for subsequent OUI charges in Maine, please review our comprehensive guide or contact us directly.

Underage OUI penalties

For drivers under the age of 21 (the legal drinking limit in Maine), Zero Tolerance laws apply for OUI.

Your license will be suspended by the BMV for any amount of alcohol and, for a first-time OUI, you will face the following criminal penalties:

  • 150-day suspension
  • Driver Alcohol Education (DEEP Program)
  • Reinstatement fees

Read More Underage OUI Charges in Maine

Implied consent penalties in Boothbay Harbor, Maine

You are breaking the law if you refuse a breath, blood or urine test if you are suspected of OUI in Boothbay Harbor and requested to submit a chemical sample.

This is known as the “implied consent” law, meaning that drivers in Maine must submit to a BAC test or breathalyzer when requested by a qualified law enforcement officer. Refusal will lead to an automatic suspension of your driving privileges for 275 days.

For drivers under the age of 21, a refusal means an automatic suspension of driving privileges for 18 months.

Possible OUI defenses in Boothbay Harbor, Maine

If you’re facing an OUI charge in BoothbayHarbor, Maine, the legal process unfolds through the Unified Criminal Docket (UCD) in Cumberland County. Unlike more serious offenses, misdemeanor OUI cases won’t be transferred to the superior court for a jury trial.

Here’s an overview of the key legal steps in the OUI case:

Arraignment

During arraignment in Boothbay Harbor, Maine, the defendant appears before a judge, hears the charges, and enters a plea. This crucial step sets the stage for subsequent legal proceedings in the case.

Dispositional Conference

Approximately six weeks after arraignment, a meeting takes place involving the defense, prosecution, and sometimes the judge. The purpose is to explore whether a negotiated resolution is possible.

Motion Hearing

The defense often files motions, such as to suppress evidence or for additional discovery. These motions must be submitted by the day after the dispositional conference and are typically heard around two weeks later.

Jury Selection

If the case proceeds to trial, jury selection in Boothbay Harbor generally occurs on a Monday a few weeks after the motion hearing.

Trial

The trial is usually scheduled approximately two weeks after jury selection. Before the trial, additional motions may be filed to determine the admissible evidence. Typically lasting one or two days, the OUI trial process concludes in Boothbay Harbor.

Contact Our OUI Defense Lawyer in Boothbay Harbor, Maine

If you’re facing OUI charges in Boothbay Harbor, or elsewhere in Lincoln County, contact experienced criminal defense attorney William T. Bly. He has handled countless cases throughout the state of Maine, and knows the ins and outs of the Maine court system.

His knowledge of local court rules can mean the difference between an acquittal, and a conviction. Call The Maine Criminal Defense Group today at (207) 571-8146 or contact us online.

Boothbay Harbor Court Location

If you get arrested for operating under the influence (OUI) in Boothbay Harbor or any other location situated in Lincoln County, Maine, the court that will be hearing case will be the one in Wiscasset. The courthouse is located at 32 High Street, Wiscasset, Maine, and houses both the Maine District Court, as well as the Lincoln County Superior Court.

The building made of brick, is two stories tall, and built on a hill just off Route 1, on the western fringes of downtown Wiscasset. Driving directions are available using Google Maps, and are also posted on the court’s website.

Parking

Parking at the courthouse in Wiscasset is extremely limited. While there is a lot directly behind the courthouse, on top of the hill, it fills up quickly. There is additional parking down the hill and further west, near the police station.

Give yourself some extra time, in case there are no spots in the courthouse’s parking lot, as it’s a short walk from the parking area near the police station.

Courtroom

There is only one old courtroom in the Wiscasset Courthouse, which is located on the second floor of the building.

A number of judges and justices handle criminal cases during different times of year in the Wiscasset Courthouse, including Hon. Barbara Raimondi, Hon. Dan Billings, and Hon. Donald Martin, an active, but retired, judge. Other judges can rotate into the Wiscasset Courthouse, if there’s a need for them to help out.

You can access the courtroom on the second floor using either the stairs or the elevator. The stairs are directly in front of you when you enter the building through the main entrance. If you need to use the elevator, enter the building through the alternate entrance, near the main one, and the elevator will be right nearby.

If you need to visit the court clerk, their office is also on the second floor, down the hall from the main courtroom.

Blog Posts

What If I Blow Under .08 on a DUI Breath Test in Maine?
Implied Consent OUI/DUI/DWI Sobriety Checkpoints

What If I Blow Under .08 on a DUI Breath Test in Maine?

If you blow under .08 in a DUI breath test in Maine, it may be jumping the gun to breathe...
Read More
Can You Enter Canada with an OUI on Your Record?
OUI/DUI/DWI

Can You Enter Canada with an OUI on Your Record?

Information Updated: October 25, 2023 Between 11 and 15 million Americans visit Canada each year but you’re unlikely to contribute...
Read More
{"slide_show":"2","slide_scroll":1,"dots":"false","arrows":"true","autoplay":"false","autoplay_interval":3000,"speed":600,"loop":"true","design":"design-2"}

Ready to get your life back? Call now!

Ready to Get Started? Contact Our Firm Today!

If you are facing criminal charges in Maine, the attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group are here to help. Call our office to speak with
one of our team members, who will discuss your case with you and set up a consultation with one of our attorneys

Call Now Button