Call Now To Get Your Life Back
207-571-8146
Menu
Search
We Fight To Have Your Charges Dismissed

Types of OUI / DUI Charges in Maine

check

AVOID A
CRIMINAL RECORD

check

OUR RATES INCLUDE
TRIAL FEES*

check

OVER 65+
GOOGLE REVIEWS

check

OVER 125+
AVVO REVIEWS

Different types of OUI / DUI Crimes in Maine

Maine OUI DUI Attorneys

According to Maine Law, Title 29-A §2411, criminal OUI is as follows:

1-A. Offense. A person commits OUI if that person: A. Operates a motor vehicle: (1) While under the influence of intoxicants; or (2) While having an alcohol level of 0.08 grams or more of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood or 210 liters of breath; [2009, c. 447, §37 (AMD).]

If you are stopped by police and believed to be intoxicated by drugs or alcohol, you will be arrested on suspicion of OUI. But it doesn’t stop there.

Many other factors such as your OUI history and the circumstances of your arrest will come into play. The more of these factors that are present, the higher the class of charges you will face.

Maine OUI / DUI Charges

There are many types of OUI and OUI related charges. All of them should be taken seriously because a conviction can have long term effects on your life. Some of these charges include the following:

First OUI

If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08% or over and you have no prior DUI convictions, you will receive a DUI charge. Even a first-time conviction can include jail time, license suspension, steep fines and more.

Second OUI

If you have a BAC of .08% or more and you have 1 DUI conviction in the past 10 years, you will be charged with a 2nd DUI.

Third OUI

If you are stopped by police and found to be driving with a BAC of .08% or more and have 2 prior DUI convictions in the past 10 years, you will be charged with a 3rd DUI.

Multiple OUIs

For every DUI conviction you have on your record in a 10 year period, each additional DUI charge will be more and more severe. The penalties for multiple DUIs tend to be a lot stricter and can include years of license suspension and several months of jail time. You might also be charged with felony DUI.

DUI and Drugs

DUI charges can involve drugs as well as alcohol. Over the counter and prescription drugs can be grounds for a DUI as well.

Out of State OUI

If you are visiting or passing through Maine and are charged with a DUI, your driving privileges in your home state might be affected as well. An experienced Maine DUI lawyer can handle your case and appear in court on your behalf.

Hit and Run OUI

If you cause an accident or property damage and leave the scene, that is a hit and run. If police believe that you left because you were under the influence, you could be facing hit and run and DUI charges.

BUI

BUI or Boating Under the Influence is a serious crime and carries serious punishments. Boats are considered vehicles and you are not permitted to drink and drive a watercraft.

OUI Injury

If you cause an accident where injury or death result and your BAC is .08% or over, your charges will be more severe.

Child Endangerment

If you are arrested for DUI and there is a minor under the age of 16 present in the vehicle, you will be charged with child endangerment as well. You will be charged with one count of child endangerment for every minor that is in the vehicle.

OUI Fatality

If you cause an accident where a person is killed and your BAC is .08% or over, you will be charged with a DUI fatality. These charges can vary in severity depending on the circumstances of the case.

Commercial OUI

If you are a commercial driver and receive a DUI, you may be facing the loss of your career in addition to DUI penalties. Even if you were not working when the DUI arrest was made, your job could still be at risk if you are convicted.

OUI Accidents

If an accident occurs and your BAC is found to be over the legal limit, you will be charged with DUI and a charge for causing the accident. Depending on the seriousness of the crash and if there were any injuries, you may even face felony charges.

Felony OUI

There are several instances that can lead to a felony DUI charge. Once you are convicted of felony DUI, all future DUI charges will be considered felonies as well. A felony conviction carries serious penalties and will remain on your criminal record.

Underage OUI

If you are under the legal drinking age in Maine (21) and stopped with a BAC of .01% or more, you will be charged with Underage DUI. If your BAC is .08% or more, you will be charged with Underage DUI and regular DUI charges.

Contact a Maine OUI Defense Attorney

If you have been arrested in Maine and are facing an OUI charge, call our firm and speak to an OUI lawyer right away.

You have many defense options available to you and our defense attorneys will be able to explain your options to you.

Call us directly at (207) 571-8146 or contact us online to get started. For your convenience, we have several offices throughout York & Cumberland County, Maine.

Ready to get your life back? Call now!

Ready to Get Started? Contact Our Firm Today!

If you are facing criminal charges in Maine, the attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group are here to help. Call our office to speak with
one of our team members, who will discuss your case with you and set up a consultation with one of our attorneys

Call Now Button