Call Now To Get Your Life Back
207-571-8146
Menu
Search

Portland OUI Attorneys

Home > Portland OUI Attorneys

Portland OUI Attorneys

Helping Citizens of Portland Defend against an OUI Charge

Being charged with and convicted of operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs (OUI) can result in significant penalties, including incarceration, in some instances. In addition to these potential legal penalties, you could also be looking at a suspension of your driver’s license, which can result in extreme inconvenience and disruption to your life – not to mention personal humiliation and embarrassment. In many instances, to have your driver’s license reinstated, you have to participate in the State’s ignition interlock device program and fulfill other prerequisites.  

If you are facing charges for OUI in Maine, the experienced Portland OUI attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group will help you formulate and assert a strong legal defense to your charge or assist you with negotiating a favorable plea deal with the prosecutor. Please contact us online today to learn more about how we could assist you with defending against your pending criminal charge. 

OUI Legal Standard in Maine 

A driver in Maine could receive an OUI (which is sometimes also referred to as a DUI – for driving under the influence) if he or she operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The legal limit is significantly lower for commercial drivers, and there are no-tolerance laws regarding underage drivers. 

Potential Penalties upon Conviction 

 

In order for you to be convicted of OUI, the State must satisfy its burden of proof beyond a reasonable doubt. If you are ultimately convicted, the sentencing judge is left with the task of assigning a penalty. Generally speaking, the more times you have been convicted of an OUI offense, the higher the penalty will be. 

For a first-time OUI conviction, offenders are looking at a maximum of one year in jail, along with fines between $500 and $2,000, a 150-day driver’s license suspension, and depending on your breath test level, 48 hours or more in jail. A second OUI conviction could result in a mandatory minimum of seven days (up to 364 days in jail), a fine of between $700 and $2,000, and a three-year license suspension. Finally, a third-time OUI conviction could lead to between 30 days and five years in jail, fines of between $1,100 and $5,000, and a six-year license suspension.

A member of our experienced legal team will represent you at any sentencing hearing, advocate for your interests, and work to help you minimize the consequences of an OUI conviction. 

Speak with a Portland OUI Attorney Today

A strong legal defense to an OUI charge could help you avoid a guilty finding or conviction altogether. If you or someone you love is facing OUI charges in Maine, the experienced attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group could investigate the circumstances of your arrest, help you determine the best possible defenses to your charge, and represent you at all of your court hearings and legal proceedings in your criminal case. To schedule a free case evaluation and legal consultation with a Portland OUI attorney, please contact us online to learn more about how we could assist. 

Ready to get your life back? Call now!

Ready to Get Started? Contact Our Firm Today!

If you are facing criminal charges in Maine, the attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group are here to help. Call our office to speak with
one of our team members, who will discuss your case with you and set up a consultation with one of our attorneys

Call Now Button