OUR RATES INCLUDE
The legislature recently passed a new bill increasing the penalties for 1st offense drunk driving convictions. The new bill, which was signed by Governor LePage and goes into effect on December 1st, 2013, increases the suspension time for a 1st offense from 90 days to 180 days.
The ramifications in a rural state such as Maine are huge. Unless you live in Portland or Bangor, there is no public transportation and the specter of losing your job, your home and your family due to lack of transportation is frightening.
However, there is a light at the end of the tunnel for people convicted of OUI/DUI/DWI here in Maine. By installing an ignition interlock device (IID), you can cut the suspension time from 180 days down to 30 days. That’s a BIG deal for most people and can make the difference between keeping and losing their jobs. As we all know, if you don’t work, you can’t pay the bills and that’s when bad things begin to snowball. If you are charged with an OUI in Maine now or after these new laws begin, a Maine OUI attorney from The Law Office of William T. Bly can help you.
While no one wants to end up with a conviction for OUI, it is good to know that there is a light at the end of the tunnel for most offenders. While an IID is neither convenient nor cheap, it is a great alternative to walking for 6 months. Though these new changes can be confusing, there is no need to worry about understanding them on your own. A Maine DUI defense lawyer will explain the rules to you and what your options are. When you or a family member face DUI charges in Maine, make sure you speak to an experienced DUI attorney right away.
If you are facing criminal charges in Maine, the attorneys at The Maine Criminal Defense Group are here to help. Call our office to speak with
one of our team members, who will discuss your case with you and set up a consultation with one of our attorneys
How did we do?
Note: Your review may be shared publicly.